Climate 2050: towards a carbon-free world

In just fifteen years or so, France has taken the lead in initiating voluntary and regulatory mechanisms to help private and public organisations incorporate climate and greenhouse gas issues into their organizational agenda. Alongside the Grenelle Law and Article 75 requiring companies, local authorities and public bodies to report their greenhouse gas emissions, carbon accounting is also already a well-established part of the regulatory landscape. Its importance as part of an organisation’s strategy is reaffirmed by the Energy Transition Law which perpetuates the obligation of organisations to declare their carbon emissions footprint.

Article 173 of the Energy Transition Law also makes it mandatory for companies to publish their significant indirect emissions in their annual reports and to make reducing climate change part of their policies. At the same time, the legislation directly implicates players in the financial sphere in climate change by requiring them to disclose the financial risks in their investments related to the effects of climate change, and to align their policies with energy and ecological transition.

With the 2016 enactment in France of this new legislation, the increasing voluntary mobilization of non-state actors as well as the first stock-taking exercise of the progress of the Paris Agreements coming up in 2018, it is essential that France continues its contribution to the pooling of experience and takes a proactive role in the current momentum of climate change ambition.

ADEME, like France, is a forerunner in this field. The Agency constantly develops and contributes its methods, international guidelines and databases (Base Carbone®, Base Impacts®, etc.). It provides support and guidance to those committed to reducing their carbon footprint, whether by helping them with regulatory declarations (via the “BEGES”, greenhouse gas audit, reporting platform) or through voluntary actions (via the “ACT”, Assessing Low Carbon Transition, initiative).

It is therefore natural that the Agency should pursue its federating role to promote climate consciousness, a pursuit it has already initiated with two previous conferences on the greenhouse gas accountability


 

The programme has been developed using a funnel principle: starting with the key themes for non-State actors and the Paris Agreement, the goal is to filter down the issues by developing scenarios and trajectories aimed at helping organizations define their Low Carbon strategies, so that these translate into action and into reducing greenhouse gas emissions.


The 2 days will be organized around:

Plenary sessions
Workshops (classic ones for experience-sharing, technical ones for a specialised public and creative ones with the aim of production and feedback from participants)
Side-events on key subjects relating to the conference agenda.
Prime targets will be identified for each session and focus on the concerns of the three arenas: Companies, Finance and Local authorities.
 

The ambition of the conference is to encourage constructive dialogue among all actors. The specific aim is:

  • For companies, to identify the needs of a carbon-free world and the strategic implications for the business community ;
  • For stakeholders in the finance sector, to elicit discussion of best practices but also demonstrate the needs in terms of climate risks and opportunities while enhancing this sector’s understanding of its contribution to the transition and the financing of a low-carbon society;
  • For local authorities, to encourage the deployment of low-carbon, climate-resilient strategies, for the sake of tomorrow’s citizens.

Colloque national 'Climat 2050, vers un monde décarboné' ?

La France est devenue en une quinzaine d’années, le pays leader en matière de dispositifs volontaires et réglementaires relatifs à l’intégration de la dimension climat et gaz à effet de serre pour les organisations privées comme publiques. En effet, déjà ancrée dans le paysage réglementaire avec la loi Grenelle et l’article 75 sur la réalisation des bilans d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre pour les organisations (entreprises, collectivités, établissements publics), la comptabilité carbone s’est vue réaffirmée son importance pour les stratégies des organisations dans la Loi de Transition Énergétique qui reconduit cette obligation de publication des bilans.

Elle instaure également via l’article 173 la publication des émissions indirectes significatives dans les rapports annuels des organisations et l’intégration de la dimension climat dans leurs stratégies. Enfin, elle implique aussi directement la sphère de la finance dans les parties prenantes du changement en leur demandant d’intégrer le risque climat dans leurs investissements et de contribuer à la transition énergétique et écologique.

Avec l’entrée en vigueur en 2016 en France de ces nouveaux textes réglementaires, l’engagement volontaire des acteurs non-étatiques toujours plus important à l’international et le premier point d’étape des Accords de Paris prévu en 2018, il est essentiel pour la France de continuer à alimenter le partage d’expérience et de s’insérer dans la dynamique actuelle de la thématique.

L’ADEME, comme la France, est précurseur sur le sujet : elle participe et alimente en continue les méthodes, normes internationales et bases de données (Base Carbone®, Base Impacts®, etc.), elle accompagne la mobilisation des acteurs engagés dans la réduction de leur empreinte carbone, que ce soit de manière règlementaire (plateforme BEGES) ou volontaire (Initiative ACT). Il est donc naturel qu’elle poursuive son rôle de fédérateur des acteurs autour de la prise en compte du climat, rôle d’ores et déjà initié avec les deux précédentes éditions du colloque « Bilan GES ».



 

Le programme a été développé selon un principe d'entonnoir: en commençant par les thèmes clés pour les acteurs non étatiques et l'Accord de Paris, l'objectif est de filtrer les problèmes en développant des scénarios et des trajectoires visant à aider les organisations à Cela se traduit par une action et une réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre..

 


Les 2 jours seront organisés autour de :

Séances plénières
Ateliers (classiques pour le partage d'expériences, techniques pour un public spécialisé et créatifs en vue de la production et de la rétroaction des participants)
Manifestations parallèles sur des sujets clés liés au programme de la conférence.

Les cibles principales seront identifiées pour chaque session et se concentreront sur les préoccupations des trois domaines: les entreprises, les finances et les autorités locales.


 

L'objectif de ces journées est d'encourager un dialogue constructif entre chacun des acteurs, et vise spécifiquement à :
 

  • Pour les entreprises, anticiper les exigences d’un monde décarboné et ses répercussions stratégiques pour le monde de l’entreprise ;
  • Pour les acteurs de la Finance, échanger sur les meilleures pratiques mais aussi comprendre les besoins en termes de risques et opportunités climat et mieux appréhender leurs contributions pour la transition et le financement de la société bas carbone ;
  • Pour les collectivités, encourager le déploiement de stratégie bas carbone pour les territoires de demain, résilients au changement climatique.

 

Appel à stand :

Cet espace de stands a pour objectif de permettre aux acteurs qui le souhaitent de valoriser et présenter leurs activités pour accompagner dans leur démarche bas carbone, entreprises, investisseurs et collectivités.
Plus d'informations sur http://www.bilans-ges.ademe.fr/ (rubrique actualités)